2011 January 24 - 12:00 am


  • Debbie L. Sydow, president of Onondaga Community College (N.Y.), was presented with an honorary doctor of humane letters degree at Keuka College’s mid-year conferral of degrees. Sydow also delivered the address at the ceremony. Sydow is the seventh president of OCC and has served since 2000. Under Sydow’s leadership, Keuka College became the first college to partner with Onondaga Community College’s regional higher education center, which offers students the opportunity to earn bachelor’s or master’s degrees on the Onondaga campus. An active professional and civic leader, Sydow served as president of the Association for Presidents of Public Community Colleges in New York, chair of the Board of Directors of the Institute for Community College Development at Cornell University and chair of the American Council on Education’s Commission on Leadership and Institutional Effectiveness.

  • Keith Houck, vice president of administrative services for Valencia Community College in Florida, received the 2010 Exemplary Practice Award from the organization of Community College Business Officers at their annual conference. The award was based on Valencia’s demonstrated excellence, under Houck’s leadership, in addressing 10 key business imperatives that resulted in reduced costs, improved efficiencies and new sources of income. As a result, Valencia was able to generate more than $3 million a year in operational savings and added more than $400,000 a year from new revenue sources.The CCBO is made up of business officers and other professionals from community colleges across the U.S. and Canada.

  • Robin Hoffman, president of Georgia’s DeKalb Technical College, has been elected to serve on the executive council of the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. The association is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in Latin America and Southeastern including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia. Hoffman currently serves as a member of the COC Board of Trustees. She is rounding out her third three-year term as a trustee. In addition, she has served as chairperson of one of the commission’s compliance and reports committees. During her tenure with COC, she has chaired a host of accreditation, reaffirmation and special committees. Now Hoffman will join the members of the COC Executive Council. The elite group is made up of the chair of the Board of Trustees, a public member, and a representative from each of the eleven states in the association’s region. Executive Council members are elected by the Board of Trustees.
Log in to use your Facebook account with
CC Week

Login With Facebook Account

Advocates Say Full Academic Load Is Key to On-Time Graduation

helps students. College students who enroll in 15 credits in their first semester, and 30 credits a year, accumulate mor... Full Story

Next Issue

Click on Cover
to view


League Leads Effort To Embed Colleges In Public Health Education

Community colleges long ago cemented their place as a central and critical contributor to the country’s health care wo... Full Story