2011 April 6 - 12:00 am


  • President Obama named 11 people and four organizations as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. The awards are given by the White House each year to individuals or organizations to recognize the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and personal development of students studying science or engineering — particularly those who belong to groups that are underrepresented in those fields. Candidates for the Presidential Mentoring Awards are nominated by colleagues, administrators and students. The mentoring can involve students at any grade level from elementary through graduate school. In addition to being honored at the White House, recipients receive awards of $10,000 to advance their mentoring efforts. This year’s award winners are: Richard L. Cardenas, St. Mary’s University, Texas; Anthony Carpi, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York; Isaac J. Crumbly, Fort Valley State University, Ga.; Jo Handelsman, Yale University, Conn.; Douglass L. Henderson, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Bruce A. Jackson, Massachusetts Bay Community College; Marigold L. Linton, University of Kansas; Maja J. Matariæ, University of Southern California; Gerard F. R. Parkin, Columbia University, N.Y.; Julio J. Ramirez, Davidson College, N.C.; Michelle A. Williams, University of Washington; Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education, Stevens Institute of Technology, N.J.: Baccalaureate and Beyond Community College Mentoring Program, State University of New York, Purchase College; Grinnell Science Project, Grinnell College, Iowa; Women in Science and Engineering Mentoring Initiatives, Center for Research on Women and Gender, University of Illinois-Chicago.

  • The Raritan Valley Community College (N.J.) chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society earned several honors, including the prestigious Award of Achievement, at the 24th annual Middle States Regional Convention. The Award of Achievement includes two parts: a College Project and an Honors in Action project. RVCC’s College Project featured a mural that is now on display in the college cafeteria. The 12- by 24-foot mural, “Tree of Knowledge,” was created by artist Amy Bartlett Wright. RVCC commissioned the artist in October 2010. The mural was painted on nine wooden panels using acrylic paints.

  • George S. Boggs, retired president and CEO of the American Association of Community Colleges, was honored with the NASPA Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education Award at the 2011 NASPA Annual Conference. The award is reserved for an individual who has contributed to the broad reach of higher education through service rendered in programs, policies, or research that has made a national impact. Boggs, who began his academic career in 1965, retired as AACC president last year after 10 years. NASPA is the organization representing student affairs administrators in higher education.
Log in to use your Facebook account with
CC Week

Login With Facebook Account

Advocates Say Full Academic Load Is Key to On-Time Graduation

helps students. College students who enroll in 15 credits in their first semester, and 30 credits a year, accumulate mor... Full Story

Next Issue

Click on Cover
to view


League Leads Effort To Embed Colleges In Public Health Education

Community colleges long ago cemented their place as a central and critical contributor to the country’s health care wo... Full Story