2012 April 2 - 12:00 am



  • Fresh from a winning performance in the recent Ohio Cookoff competition, a student team from the Midwest Culinary Institute of Cincinnati State Technical and Community College will head to Niagara Falls to compete at the 2012 American Culinary Federation’s Northeast Regional Conference. During the Ohio Cookoff event, the Cincinnati State team garnered a gold medal in the skills competition and a silver medal in the cooking competition, winning an overall national silver medal and the right to represent the state of Ohio at the ACF Regional Conference. There they will compete for the right to represent the Northeast Region for the national title at the ACF national convention, which will be held this July in Orlando. The team is led by Master Chef John Kinsella and coached by MCI instructors George Zappas, Michael VanFleet and Laura Horn.

  • Two professors at Florida’s Edison State College have been named winners of the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Award. The two winners are Jay Koepke, an anatomy and physiology professor at the Collier Campus, and Christy Smith, a mathematics professor at the Charlotte Campus. Edison State College faculty, student and staff nominate professors for this award. Nominations are based on a professor’s teaching and learning practices that encourage student achievement. The nominations are then sent to NISOD. Winners are honored in May during NISOD’s International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence.

  • Major accolades and honors for Florida’s Miami Dade College President Eduardo J. Padrón continue, with the nationally respected higher education leader receiving the coveted 2012 TIAA-CREF Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence. The award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame and former member of the TIAA-CREF Board of Overseers. The award, which Padrón will officially receive during the annual meeting of the American Council on Education, recognizes leadership and commitment to higher education and contributions to the greater good. It is presented to a current college or university president or chancellor who embodies the spirit of Hesburgh, his commitment and contributions to higher education and society. The award is administered by the TIAA-CREF Institute.
Log in to use your Facebook account with
CC Week

Login With Facebook Account

Advocates Say Full Academic Load Is Key to On-Time Graduation

helps students. College students who enroll in 15 credits in their first semester, and 30 credits a year, accumulate mor... Full Story

Next Issue

Click on Cover
to view


League Leads Effort To Embed Colleges In Public Health Education

Community colleges long ago cemented their place as a central and critical contributor to the country’s health care wo... Full Story