2012 May 14 - 12:00 am


  • Almost half a century ago, Lorene Asay was appointed by New Jersey’s Gloucester County Board of Chosen Freeholders to serve on the Citizens Study Committee and charged with the task of determining the need for a community college. On April 12, the former president of the county PTA and community college advocate visited the GCC campus with her family to view the plaque bearing her name. Gloucester County College President Frederick Keating and John Henzy, provost and vice president of academics, thanked Asay for her foresight in recognizing and promoting the important contributions of community colleges.

  • The Bristol Community College (Mass.) Student Handbook received the Gold Paragon from the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations. NCMPR is the organization for community college communications professionals. The Paragon Awards annually recognize the best of community college marketing and public relations, including publications, media relations projects, advertising campaigns, radio and television commercials. The Paragon Awards are competitive, with more than 1,800 entries this year. The winning project for BCC was its reengineered Student Handbook, which was designed as a result of the College’s Title III grant project entitled “The Connected College.” The $1.8 million grant over five years created ways to better engage first-year students in the resources they can use to be successful. The project was a team effort between College Communications, Title III staff, and the Office of Student Engagement. It was designed by Caitlyn Lebeau, a BCC graduate from the Graphic Design program.

  • San Jacinto College (Texas) South Campus President Maureen Murphy was one of 20 college presidents and chief executive officers nationwide to receive the Phi Theta Kappa Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction at the annual Phi Theta Kappa Convention in Nashville, Tenn. The international community college honor society recognizes college presidents and campus chief executive officers based on their support of their PTK chapter and the organization as a whole. The award is named in honor of Shirley B. Gordon, the longest-serving PTK board chair, and founder and longtime president of Highland Community College (Wash.) South Campus PTK faculty advisors Susan Eason and Elizabeth McKinley thanked Murphy’s for her support and encouragement of the organization and the success they have seen over the last two years.
Log in to use your Facebook account with
CC Week

Login With Facebook Account

Advocates Say Full Academic Load Is Key to On-Time Graduation

helps students. College students who enroll in 15 credits in their first semester, and 30 credits a year, accumulate mor... Full Story

Next Issue

Click on Cover
to view


League Leads Effort To Embed Colleges In Public Health Education

Community colleges long ago cemented their place as a central and critical contributor to the country’s health care wo... Full Story