CC Week - Blogs http://ccweek.com/blog Sun, 25 Jun 17 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Fanning the Fickle Flame of Learning - Marching in Lockstep or a Crucible of Change? http://ccweek.com/blog-5665-fanning-the-fickle-flame-of-learning.html Fanning the Fickle Flame of Learning - Marching in Lockstep or a Crucible of Change?
 It is nearly mid-June, and the official commencement of summer is nigh. On the front page of The Los Angeles Times on last Sunday (June 11), readers are offered an article about the goods ...]]>
Hearing Sounds Above the Din - Filtering Out Unwanted Noises, Hearing Satisfying Sounds http://ccweek.com/blog-5617-hearing-sounds-above-the-din.html Hearing Sounds Above the Din - Filtering Out Unwanted Noises, Hearing Satisfying Sounds
 What is that noise? Shakespeare wrote. And wherefore that cry? As the month of May approaches its end, when Memorial Day will herald the simultaneity of spring’s end and summer’s begin...]]>
Pushing Our Own Agenda, Singing Our Own Praises http://ccweek.com/blog-5616-pushing-our-own-agenda-singing-our-own-praises.html Pushing Our Own Agenda, Singing Our Own Praises
 As the month of May enters its second half, mothers are celebrated in much of the world. Rhéa, the grandmother of the gods and the mother of Zeus, was among the first progenitress (!) of lif...]]>
Throwing In the Towel and Communication Inundationcks on the Cheek http://ccweek.com/blog-5481-throwing-in-the-towel-and-communication-inundationcks-on-the-cheek.html Throwing In the Towel and Communication Inundationcks on the Cheek
As February hits its mid-point and most academic terms are well under way, I look at the tasks before me and recall why both full-time and part-time professorial colleagues of mine decided to retir...]]>
Crossing T’s, Dotting I’s and Ferreting Out Fake News - Poor Punctuation, Misspellings Should Arouse Suspicions http://ccweek.com/blog-5455-crossing-t%25E2%2580%2599s-dotting-i%25E2%2580%2599s-and-ferreting-out-fake-news.html Crossing T’s, Dotting I’s and Ferreting Out Fake News - Poor Punctuation, Misspellings Should Arouse Suspicions
I keep hearing about “normalizing” and “the new normal.” What do these terms mean? Is there some “norm” out there, or was there once a norm, and it is now changing all around us?  ...]]>
Stimulating Malleable Minds at Campaign’s End - Learning Can Thrive Even Amid Desultory Election Campaign http://ccweek.com/blog-5398-stimulating-malleable-minds-at-campaign%25E2%2580%2599s-end.html Stimulating Malleable Minds at Campaign’s End - Learning Can Thrive Even Amid Desultory Election Campaign
Phatic communication comprises those typically meaningless sets of utterances that may begin or end a conversation safely. It includes, “Hi, how are ya,” “How are things?” “What’s up?”...]]>
Keeping Secrets In An Era of Instant Information - Privacy and the Need To Share Data Frequently Collide http://ccweek.com/blog-5333-keeping-secrets-in-an-era-of-instant-information.html Keeping Secrets In An Era of Instant Information - Privacy and the Need To Share Data Frequently Collide
 It's all out there. In a world of instantaneity, when I can be more than 3,000 miles away from a football stadium and still know about the action as it happens, not just via television or...]]>
Strange Squeeze: Taking Charge of Change, Staying True to Mission http://ccweek.com/blog-5276-strange-squeeze-taking-charge-of-change-staying-true-to-mission.html Strange Squeeze: Taking Charge of Change, Staying True to Mission
 As new semesters begin to supplant the old, and as students enroll, I look about me at the sea of options available to them and wonder at their wealth:  How does one know how or when t...]]>
Of Time and Timeliness http://ccweek.com/blog-5187-of-time-and-timeliness.html Of Time and Timeliness
Like many part-timers, I work in more than one place simultaneously. This week, I have classes to teach in six different spots, a slight respite from last week, when I had seven. And so, some of th...]]>
It's Election Season: Watch, Listen, Learn and Vote http://ccweek.com/blog-5044-its-election-season-watch-listen-learn-and-vote.html It's Election Season: Watch, Listen, Learn and Vote
 Presidential primary races and caucuses are in full swing, as this shortest month of the year grinds to its leap-year extra day halt. And the shouts are definitely louder than are the murmu...]]>
Doing the Math: Powerball as a Teachable Moment http://ccweek.com/blog-4980-doing-the-math-powerball-as-a-teachable-moment.html Doing the Math: Powerball as a Teachable Moment
 As teams face off for football championships, both collegiate and professional, as technology-rich fans cast their lots in "fantasy sports", and as lines lengthen at lottery ticket outlets, ...]]>
A New Year Demands New Clarity on Community College Mission http://ccweek.com/blog-4979-a-new-year-demands-new-clarity-on-community-college-mission.html A New Year Demands New Clarity on Community College Mission
According to readers of the news about community colleges as reported in NISOD (the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development) “mission” and “values” were of prime interest...]]>
Fighting Fear Through the Commerce of Ideas http://ccweek.com/blog-4935-fighting-fear-through-the-commerce-of-ideas.html Fighting Fear Through the Commerce of Ideas
Mid-December, and semesters are ending, so that students and faculty, administrators and classified staff can all take a break. Christmas is less than a week away, the New Year is supposed to bode w...]]>
Millions, Master Plans and Mediocrity http://ccweek.com/blog-4870-millions-master-plans-and-mediocrity.html Millions, Master Plans and Mediocrity
 Five years ago, in Newark, New Jersey, the state where 2016 Republican presidential candidate Chris Christie has been governor since 2010, a supposed “bold new paradigm for educational exce...]]>
Poverty Dulls the Light of Learning http://ccweek.com/blog-4790-poverty-dulls-the-light-of-learning.html Poverty Dulls the Light of Learning
Pope Francis has returned to the Vatican after spending a busy week in America, where he has touched upon one subject in particular that all community college partisans have come to know and love: ...]]>
Try To Remember When It Was September http://ccweek.com/blog-4709-try-to-remember-when-it-was-september.html Try To Remember When It Was September
Try to remember the kind of September when life was slow, and oh, so mellow. So goes a song popularized by Tom Jones, Harry Belafonte, and others, a memory-lane call marking the popularity of the l...]]>
Community Colleges: Where Low Tech and High Tech Collide http://ccweek.com/blog-4667-community-colleges-where-low-tech-and-high-tech-collide.html Community Colleges: Where Low Tech and High Tech Collide
August 2015 is here. Microsoft is announcing for the end of summer's dog days Windows 10, a "new" and "free" version of its operating system, called fittingly a system "d'exploitation" in F...]]>
Why Erect Fences in a World Without Borders? http://ccweek.com/blog-4643-why-erect-fences-in-a-world-without-borders.html Why Erect Fences in a World Without Borders?
 The United States of America has long described — if not defined —itself as “a nation of immigrants,” a country enriched by those who would come here seeking an unrestricted ability t...]]>
Summertime and the Spirit of Sunshine http://ccweek.com/blog-4601-summertime-and-the-spirit-of-sunshine.html Summertime and the Spirit of Sunshine
Spring has sprung; fall has fell; summer’s here, and it's hotter than usual. Thus spake the apocryphal poet, using license, in an ungrammatical ditty announcing that, as the medievalists wrote, ...]]>
Adjuncts: Adrift, Isolated and Unappreciated http://ccweek.com/blog-4577-adjuncts-adrift-isolated-and-unappreciated.html Adjuncts: Adrift, Isolated and Unappreciated
A recent cover story in Community College Week cited the rebirth under new management of the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development, NISOD, originally the brainchild of John Ro...]]>
Measuring Success: Beyond Test Scores and Grad Rates http://ccweek.com/blog-4551-measuring-success-beyond-test-scores-and-grad-rates.html Measuring Success: Beyond Test Scores and Grad Rates
In late March, 2015, Economist magazine reporter Emma Duncan wrote: “IF YOU LEARNED that the top dogs in a particular market were the same as 100 years ago, you would probably surmise that th...]]>
Baltimore, Horses, Horror and Hope: It’s the Merry Month of May! http://ccweek.com/blog-4531-baltimore-horses-horror-and-hope-it%25E2%2580%2599s-the-merry-month-of-may_.html Baltimore, Horses, Horror and Hope: It’s the Merry Month of May!
Since the late 19th Century and the 1886 Haymarket Affair in Chicago, most of the world has celebrated May Day, the first day of this springtime month, as Labor Day, when workers are fêted and the...]]>
Spring in the Air, Adjuncts on the Street http://ccweek.com/blog-4512-spring-in-the-air-adjuncts-on-the-street.html Spring in the Air, Adjuncts on the Street
You know it's spring when.... New baby birds, flower buds, shoots of plants and fresh creepy-crawlies proliferate. Flowering plants replace dead-heads by live ones. The sunshine is gentle a...]]>
Mirrors of Lives and Times http://ccweek.com/blog-4489-mirrors-of-lives-and-times.html Mirrors of Lives and Times
 Remembrances of things past but not passed: Are we heading toward a future or not? The Ides of April are nearly upon us, and there is nothing as certain as death and taxes, except, perhap...]]>
March Madness, Spring Break and Part-Time Professors http://ccweek.com/blog-4488-march-madness-spring-break-and-part-time-professors.html March Madness, Spring Break and Part-Time Professors
 In the last week before the NCAA Final Four tournament of men's basketball in Indianapolis, I am wont to wonder at a number of concurrent and consequent things: Is this basketball tourna...]]>
Safe Spaces and Cosseted Questioners http://ccweek.com/blog-4466-safe-spaces-and-cosseted-questioners.html Safe Spaces and Cosseted Questioners
 “Safe spaces," writes New York Times Op-Ed contributor Judith Shulevitz, "are an expression of the conviction, increasingly prevalent among college students, that their schools should kee...]]>
Perish the Thought of Censoring Climate Change Discussion http://ccweek.com/blog-4463-perish-the-thought-of-censoring-climate-change-discussion.html Perish the Thought of Censoring Climate Change Discussion
 Beware the Ides of March, sayeth William Shakespeare. Residents of the American northeast and mid-Atlantic had not seen their snow-covered front lawns or roadside curbs for months before ...]]>
Community Colleges Struggle To Find Right Balance http://ccweek.com/blog-4437-community-colleges-struggle-to-find-right-balance.html Community Colleges Struggle To Find Right Balance
          BOSTON — Community college leaders are struggling to find the proper balance between their historic open access mission and the rising demand...]]>
A Great Divide Separates College Full- and Part-Timers http://ccweek.com/blog-4412-a-great-divide-separates-college-full-and-part-timers.html A Great Divide Separates College Full- and Part-Timers
Classified and certificated: These are two primary categories for personnel at the principal community college district where I work in California. Secretaries and file clerks, office workers and m...]]>
Calculating Success Much Tougher than Defining Failure http://ccweek.com/blog-4411-calculating-success-much-tougher-than-defining-failure.html Calculating Success Much Tougher than Defining Failure
  “Community colleges," as New York Times "economic scene" columnist Eduardo Porter wrote on Feb. 18, "are pretty much the only shot at a higher education for those who don't have th...]]>